The Biggest Cricketing Event Has Just Ended – T20 World Cup 2022

The once in two year cricketing extravaganza is over with scintillating performances, up and downs, lows and highs, holding the fans in nerve wrecking last ball deciders. The famed two time champion West Indies didn’t even make it to the super 12. A couple of last ball finishes between India – Pakistan and Zimbabwe – Pakistan, both lost by Pakistan, are seat edge stuff. The rain played spoil sport with delight and dismay for teams who scraped through and lost big. Many upsets made favourite title contenders Australia, India, New Zealand and South Africa go back to their drawing rooms to rewrite their future strategies.

The T20 World Cup 2022 was played in Australia from 16th October to 13th November 2022. An epic finale between a strong England and the unpredictable Pakistan who scraped through with two losses in their initial games and fought their way in to the decider. In the end a well balanced and consistent England lifted the trophy for the second time, which they absolutely deserved. A fitting finale for the month long action packed cricketing event, every cricket fan’s delight.

T20 World Cup Finals and Winners So Far

Below are the list of finals played up to 2022 and the winners of those matches.

Year     No. Of Teams              Host Country              Winner            Runner Up

2007                12                    South Afirca                India                Pakistan

2009                12                    England                       Pakistan          Sri Lanka

2010                12                    West Indies                England           Australia

2012                12                    Sri Lanka                     West Indies    Sri Lanka

2014                16                    Bangladesh                 Sri Lanka         India

2016                16                    India                            West Indies    England

2021                16                    UAE/Oman                 Australia         New Zealand

2022                16                    Australia                     England           Pakistan

T20 Cricket World Cup – A Brief History

T20 also known as twenty twenty,  is a format of  the cricket game where twenty overs per team is allowed play against another team. The other two formats of the game are test matches played for five days comprising of two innings for each team and ODI, one day international where 50 overs per team is allowed to play. The longer formats of the game was attracting lesser crowd and there was a need to attract the younger generation and create new fans for the game. Thus T20 was introduced in the year 2002 in England between county teams. The first international T20 game was played between New Zealand and Australia in 2005. The official T20 Men’s World Cup was played in the year 2007 in South Africa with 12 teams. It was also decided that the T20 World Cup will be played once in two years with an exception to advance the T20 World Cup Final to the previous year if there is another Cricket World Cup event taking place in the scheduled year. The number of teams was expanded to 16 in 2014.

Teams Played In The T20 World Cup 2022 In Australia

Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Scotland, South Africa, UAE, Zimbabwe and West Indies.

Rules & Regulations For T20 World Cup

Apart from the existing cricketing rules for T20 game, some new rules are introduced from 2022.

There is a ban to use saliva to shine the ball.

The “Mankad” rules has become official and categorized as a run out.

A new batsman coming in to the game after the one playing got out, the new batsman will be the striker even though the batsman who got out has crossed to other side for a run.

No deliberate movement of players allowed during the time a bowler is running in to bowl. This will result in a dead ball and five runs awarded to the batting team.

A dead ball will be considered if the bowler throws the ball to the strike for a run out, if the striker attempts to position himself by walking down from the crease.

A part of the batsman’s body or the bat should be within the pitch. If the batter moves out of the pitch it will considered a dead ball.

A forceful movement of the batter out of the pitch is considered a no ball.

Get The Same Cricket Gears Your Players Use During World Cup Australia 2022

VKS Sports supplies all the leading brands of cricket gear and equipment that are used by professional international players in the World Cup 2022 which ended in Australia. Use the same high quality bats, ball, gloves, pads, team jerseys, etc., delivered right at your door step from and replay the actions of your favourite cricketing heroes.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *