England and New Zealand Test Series Highlights

One of the most exciting events to have happened in the world of cricket this year is the England and New Zealand Test Series. Two of the world’s best cricket teams came together to play two exciting test matches in June 2021 which were held in England. 

Here is a summary of the series if you missed watching it –

The England squad comprised of Joe Root (Captain), Stuart Broad (Vice Captain), James Anderson, Dom Bess, Sam Billings, James Bracey (wicketkeeper), Rory Burns, Jack Crawley, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Dom Sibley, Olly Stone and Mark Wood. Ben Foakes had also been selected for the England squad but he had to be ruled out due to his hamstring injury. 

The New Zealand squad had Kane Williamson (Captain), Tom Latham (Vice Captain), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (wicketkeeper) and Will Young. 

1st Test

The first Test was played at Lord’s, London between 2 June and 6 June. New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat first. In the 1st innings, Devon Conway scored 200 runs in 347 balls, thus becoming the 12th batsman for New Zealand to score a double century on his Test debut. He scored 22 fours and 1 sixer for his team. In bowling, Ollie Robinson had a score of 4/75 in 28 overs. In England’s turn to bat in the first innings, Rory Burns scored 132 runs in 297 balls, whereas Tim Southee took 6 wickets in 25.1 overs. 

In the second innings, New Zealand’s Tom Latham scored 36 runs in 99 balls which included 3 fours, whereas Ollie Robinson took 3 wickets in 14 overs. The English squad’s Tom Sibley got 60 runs in 207 balls with 3 fours. Among bowlers, Neil Wagner had the top score of 2/27 in 16 overs.

In all, New Zealand scored 347 runs in 122.4 overs and England scored 275 runs in 101.1 overs. The match was drawn with Devon Conway being declared as the Player of the Match. 

2nd Test 

The second Test was played at Edgbaston, Birmingham between 11 June and 14 June. England won the toss and elected to bat first. In the first innings, the England squad’s Dan Lawrence scored 81 runs in 124 balls with 13 fours. In bowling, Trent Boult had a score of 4/85 in 29 overs. In New Zealand’s turn to bat, Will Young scored 82 runs in 204 balls with 11 fours. In bowling, Stuart Broad scored the highest with 4/48 in 23.1 overs. 

In the second innings, England’s Mark Wood scored 29 runs in 38 balls with 5 fours and 1 sixer. Among bowlers, Neil Wagner performed the best with a score of 3/18 in 10 overs. New Zealand’s Tom Latham scored 23 runs in 32 balls with 3 fours and among bowlers, Olly Stone got 1 wicket in 1 over. 

In all, England scored 303 runs in 101 overs whereas New Zealand scored 388 runs in 119.1 overs. New Zealand won the 2nd Test by 8 wickets, and Matt Henry of the New Zealand squad was declared the Player of the Match. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *